95.3 / 88.5 FM Grand Rapids and 95.3 FM Muskegon
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Scholten and colleagues introduce bill requiring FAA to share tower replacement process

Gerald R. Ford International Airport

The bipartisan legislation would require the FAA deliver to Congress a report on the process used to select towers for replacement.

The Gerald R. Ford International Airport’s control tower is 60-years old. It opened in 1963. Airport officials point out it’s the second oldest tower in the nation’s top 100 markets. In 2019, when the airport authority board announced Project Elevate. a three-development expansion of Ford International, it included a $90 million expansion of Concourse A with eight new gates beginning in 2020. Second on the to-do list, an additional federal inspection station. Finally, the relocation of the current air traffic control tower. The airport authority pointing out a new tower has been on the Federal Aviation Administrations’ tower replacement list for more than a decade.

Monday, the bipartisan Air Traffic Control Tower Replacement Process Report Act was introduced by U.S. Representatives Hillary Scholten, a Grand Rapids Democrat. Florida Democrat Representative Kathy Castor along with Florida Republican Representatives Gus Bilirakis and Scott Franklin.

Rep. Scholten said, “Our bipartisan bill would provide clarity to the tower replacement process and ensure that airports like ours know where we are in the decision-making process as we advocate for updated airport infrastructure.”

The representatives are requiring the FAA deliver to Congress a report on the process used to select towers for replacement.

Patrick joined WGVU Public Media in December, 2008 after eight years of investigative reporting at Grand Rapids' WOOD-TV8 and three years at WYTV News Channel 33 in Youngstown, Ohio. As News and Public Affairs Director, Patrick manages our daily radio news operation and public interest television programming. An award-winning reporter, Patrick has won multiple Michigan Associated Press Best Reporter/Anchor awards and is a three-time Academy of Television Arts & Sciences EMMY Award winner with 14 nominations.
Related Content