95.3 / 88.5 FM Grand Rapids and 95.3 FM Muskegon
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Emergency designation expanded to 6 more Upper Peninsula counties

Governor Gretchen Whitmer
Michigan Public Radio Network
Governor Gretchen Whitmer

A state of emergency has been extended to additional Upper Peninsula counties due to flooding

Governor Gretchen Whitmer toured affected areas last week.

Gogebic and Houghton counties were already named emergency areas, and on Friday the designation was expanded to include Alger, Baraga, Dickinson, Iron, Marquette, and Ontonagon counties.

Flooding by accelerated snow melt has overwhelmed sewer and storm water systems, burst earthen dams, and caused culvert and embankment failures and road washouts. Officials say local resources are insufficient to deal with the damage.

Governor Whitmer has activated the State Emergency Operations Center to make all state resources available to support affected communities.

Related Content